Fountain of Youth

Colonic Youth
Dan Blake, sax/reeds
Philip White, electronics
James Ilgenfritz, bass
Kevin Shea, drums
Infrequent Seams, 2014

The quartet COLONIC YOUTH was formed in 2012 by saxophonist Dan Blake, bassist James Ilgenfritz, electronic musician Philip White, and drummer Kevin Shea. Owing as much to the music of John Coltrane’s late quartet as to the Sonic Arts Union, the quartet swaps the more unorthodox analogue and digital electronics for a piano or guitar. The band’s extended improvisations explore diverse territory, at times tongue-in-cheek or dead serious, with dynamics ranging from careless whispers to primal screams.


All About Jazz